Skip to main content

Social Work: Tests

Welcome to the Georgia State University subject guide for Social Work! Here you can find pointers for identifying high-quality information for your research (as well as how to cite it correctly).

Test Information

http://www.masternewmedia.org/news/2007/05/02/usability_testing_approaches_a_review.htm

Masternewmedia (2007)

Sources Containing Commercially Published Tests

Mental Measurements Yearbook
Contains full-text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas from Yearbooks 9 through 15.

Tests in Print
A comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.

 

Sources Containing Tests

Handbook of tests and measurement in education and the social sciences. Ref. LB3051 .L4543 2000
This handbook includes 120 instruments arranged under 36 topics, e.g. stress/burnout, locus of control, teacher attitudes/beliefs.  Information on reliability, validity, factor analysis, and references to studies utilizing the instrument are included.

Measures for clinical practice and research. (4th ed.)  BF176 .C66 2007
Volume 1 contains instruments relating to couples, families, and children.  Volume 2 contains instruments relating to adults. 

Measuring health: A guide to rating scales and questionnaires. (3rd ed.)  Ref. RA408.5 .M38 2006
Includes instruments on psychological well-being, anxiety, depression, and mental status testing.

Sources Listing Tests in Journals and Books

Tests : a comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education, and business, Ref. BF176 .T43 2008

Directory of unpublished experimental mental measures. 1974-   Ref. 431 .G624 (LN2)
References to journals in Education, Psychology, and Sociology in which tests on specific subjects can be found. 

Title index for the Directory of unpublished experimental mental measures Ref. BF431 .J29 2001 (LN2)

ERIC
Good source for educationally oriented tests.  For tests on a given subject, limit to Tests/Questionnaires as Publication Type in the Advanced Search mode. 

PsycINFO
To identify articles that include a test on a certain subject, perform an advanced search on the topic including the term "appended."  Select the field TM Tests & Measures.  As an example: Depression and appended (TM Tests & Measures).

Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences
If you identify a collection that contains a test you want, search GIL to see if our library owns the book.