Skip to main content

Psychology: General Research Guide (Atlanta Campus): Evidence-
Based Practice

WHAT IS EVIDENCED-BASED PRACTICE (MEDICINE)?

"Evidence based medicine is the conscientious, explicit, and judicious use of current best evidence in making decisions about the care of individual patients. The practice of evidence based medicine means integrating individual clinical expertise with the best available external clinical evidence from systematic research."

Sacket, D.L., Rosenberg, W.M.C., Muir, J.A., Haynes, R.B., & Richardson, W.S. (1996). Evidence based medicine: What it is and what it isn't.  British Medical Journal, 312 (7023), 71.

DATABASES AND OTHER SEARCH TOOLS FOR EBP

Include the subject terms Evidence Based Practice, Best Practices, and/or Clinical Trials in your searches.  In Advanced Searches, under Methodology, limit to Systematic Review, or Treatment Outcome/Clinical Trial.
 
 
Select Clinical Queries under PubMed Tools.  See also the Systematic Reviews section. You can also use the Limits feature in normal PubMed searches for certain publication types, such as Clinical Trial, Meta-Analysis, Practice Guidelines, Randomized Controlled Trial, Review, Guideline, etc.
 

Use the advanced search screen to limit your search to specific types of Clinical Queries. You can also limit your query to EBM Reviews by checking a box.

Cochrane Library
A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.  Use the advanced search screen to set limits and to see search tips.

 
CINAHL (pronounced "sin-all")
Indexes thousands of allied health field journals plus health carebooks, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, book chapters, and Evidence-Based Care Sheets.  Use Advanced Search and see Evidence-Based Practice check box on bottom under Limit your results.

 

Also try...

TRIP (Turning Research into Practice) Database
A clinical search engine designed to allow clinicians to quickly find answers to their clinical questions using the best available evidence. See the extensive list of resources that the database searches here.

 

FINDING BOOKS ON EBM/EBP

The Library of Congress includes the phrase "evidence based" in the subject heading for books related to evidence based practices.  

Use the advanced search screen of the GSU Library catalog to search for books on EBP:

 


 

Highlights from our collections:

PSYCHOLOGY LIBRARIAN

Ida Martinez's picture
Ida Martinez
Contact:
542 Library South
(404) 413-2863
itmartinez@gsu.edu