*Psychology Subject Guide

Measures of Personality and Social Psychological Constructs assists researchers and practitioners by identifying and reviewing the best scales/measures for a variety of constructs. Each chapter discusses test validity, reliability, and utility. Authors have focused on the most often used and cited scales/measures, with a particular emphasis on those published in recent years. Each scale is identified and described, the sample on which it was developed is summarized, and reliability and validity data are presented, followed by presentation of the scale, in full or in part, where such permission has been obtained. Measures fall into five broad groups. The emotional disposition section reviews measures of general affective tendencies, and/or cognitive dispositions closely linked to emotion. These measures include hope and optimism, anger and hostility, life satisfaction, self-esteem, confidence, and affect dimensions. Emotion regulation scales go beyond general dispositions to measure factors that may contribute to understanding and managing emotions. These measures include alexithymia, empathy, resiliency, coping, sensation seeking, and ability and trait emotional intelligence.  The interpersonal styles section introduces some traditional social-psychological themes in the context of personality assessment. These measures include adult attachment, concerns with public image and social evaluation, and forgiveness. The vices and virtues section reflects adherence to moral standards as an individual characteristic shaped by sociocultural influences and personality. These measures include values and moral personality, religiosity, dark personalities (Machiavellianism,narcissism, and subclinical psychopathy), and perfectionism. The sociocultural interaction and conflict section addresses relationships between different groups and associated attitudes. These measures include cross-cultural values, personality and beliefs, intergroup contact, stereotyping and prejudice, attitudes towards sexual orientation, and personality across cultures.

One of the key challenges of all types of practice and research is finding a way to measure the problem. This seminal 2-volume book contains hundreds of the most useful measurement tools for use in clinical practice and in research. All measures are critiqued by the editors, who provideguidance on how to select and score them and the actual measures are wholly reproduced.This first volume, focusing on measures for use with couples, families, and children, includes an introduction to the basic priniciples of measurement, an overview of different types of measures, and an overview of the Rapid Assessment Inventories included herein. Volume I also contains descriptionsand reviews of each instrument, as well as information on how they were selected and how to administer and score them.This book is designed as the definitive reference volume on assessment measures for both practice and research in clinical mental health. This fifth edition of Corcoran and Fischer's Measures for Clinical Practice and Research is updated with a new preface, new scales, and updated information forexisting instruments, expanding and cementing its utility for members of all the helping professions, including psychology, social work, psychiatry, counseling, nursing, and medicine.Alone or as a set, these classic compendiums are powerful tools that clinicians and researchers alike will find an invaluable addition to - or update of - their libraries.

Racial and ethnic issues stand at the core of social, political, and economic concerns in an increasingly diverse America. Accordingly, how individuals from the various ethnic groups regard themselves--and others--is a salient focus of research studies across the disciplines. Measuring Race and Ethnicity gathers psychological measures of common phenomena such as racial identity, acculturation, and intra- and intergroup relations enabling researchers to compare concepts across groups and better evaluate differences and disparities.Researchers in psychology, social work, and public health examining cultural and race-related topics will find an immediately relevant source of valid and reliable scales in Measuring Race and Ethnicity.

Are you a teacher or guidance counselor looking for an accessible reference guide? This revised edition of a popular 1993 anthology includes 120 tests and surveys, bringing together psychometric information about instruments developed to measure constructs in education and social sciences.

The nature of attitudes -- Methods of scale construction -- Social practices -- Social issues and problems -- International issues -- Abstract concepts -- Political and religious attitudes -- Ethnic and national groups -- Significant others -- Social institutions -- Comments and conclusions.

This classic and invaluable reference handbook, written for sex researchers and their students, has now been completely revised in a new, fourth edition. It remains the only easy and efficient way for researchers to learn about, evaluate, and compare instruments that have previously been used in sex research.

Measuring public attitude is a science of averages and interpretation. This volume looks at how society views itself through its attitudes towards politics, race, tolerance, and other psycho-political topics and the way these attitudes are measured. This text covers the construction of these measuring techniques and how lead to responses which govern modern socio-political attitudes.

Expanding and building on the measures included in the original 1994 volume, Communication Research Measures II: A Sourcebook provides new measures in mass, interpersonal, instructional, and group/organizational communication areas, and highlights work in newer subdisciplines in communication, including intercultural, family, and health. It also includes measures from outside the communication discipline that have been employed in communication research. The measures profiled here are "the best of the best" from the early 1990s through today. They are models for future scale development as well as tools for the trade, and they constitute the main tools that researchers can use for self-administered measurement of people's attitudes, conceptions of themselves, and perceptions of others. The focus is on up-to-date measures and the most recent scales and indexes used to assess communication variables. Providing suggestions for measurement of concepts of interest to researchers; inspiring students to consider research directions not considered previously; and supplying models for scale developers to follow in terms of the work necessary to produce a valid and reliable measurement instrument in the discipline, the authors of this key resource have developed a significant contribution toward improving measurement and providing measures for better science.

Tennis star Andre Agassi has been quoted as saying Image is everything. This may seem like an exaggeration, but it is true that, for many people, how they feel about their appearance means everything. Body image is a powerful factor in how we feel about ourselves, and those who suffer from a body image disturbance are vulnerable to a host of difficulties ranging from low self-esteem to bulimia and anorexia nervosa. Body Image Disturbance: Integrating Theory, Assessment, and Treatment is a provocative analysis that integrates explanations from social, interpersonal, feminist and behavioural cognitive psychology. This book is packed with research, assessment and treatment guidance. Clinicians, practitioners and researchers should value this book for its coverage of how psychology grapples with the troubling relationship between appearance and identity.

"This publication is the product of a national working group that examined key dimensions of religiousness/spirituality as they relate to physical and mental health outcomes. Its 12 papers include brief literature reviews, recommended instruments, and bibliographies for each of the 12 identified domains. Also included is the Brief Multidimensional Measure of Religiousness/Spirituality, an instrument substantially based on select questions from each domain."

Offering a primer for practitioners and researchers, this volume strives to incorporate assessment of human strengths, resources and fulfilments into their work. Contributors examine the scientific underpinnings and practical application of measures of hope, optimism, self-efficacy, problem-solving, locus of control, creativity, wisdom, courage, positive emotion, self-esteem, love, emotional intelligence, empathy, attachment, forgiveness, humour, gratitiude, faith, morality, coping, well-being and quality of life. Vocational and multicultural applications of positive psychological assessment are also discussed, as is the measurement of contextual variables that may facilitate the development or enhancement of human strength. The variety of perspectives offered should be useful to readers who wish to incorporate balance into their assessments and research through the integration of theoretically grounded positive measures.

In contrast to the great diversity of other crime and delinquency research measures, those drawn from the CPI and the MMPI have much in common. They are taken from standardized instruments administered under controlled conditions, with known stimulus properties and validity indicators. The CPI and MMPI measures will frequently be instruments of choice in research on personality and psychodynamics of offenders. CHAPTER 6 Law Enforcement and Police This chapter encompasses a variety of scales that refer to law enforcement or police agencies. Unfortunately, in the case of many scales, these terms are used simply with the assumption that the respondents understand the concepts and use them in the same way as researchers. In other cases, however, specific policing functions are identified and described. As noted in Chapter 3, a standard order of scale presentation is followed. First the attitudes scales are presented, followed by the behavior ratings, per­ sonality measures, milieu ratings, prediction measures and finally the very broad category of description. After the reviews are completed within each subcategory, other scales in that category are listed. (See Chapter 2 for a description of the criteria that were used in deciding upon whether a scale would be reviewed or simply listed. ) Listed scales are presented by title and bibliographic reference, followed by a very brief description.

The Handbook of Marketing Scales, Third Edition, represents a clear and user-friendly collection of multi-item, self-report measures developed and frequently used in consumer behavior and marketing research. Key Features More than 150 scales are included in the Handbook. Many scales were originally published in marketing and consumer journals, and including them in one volume helps reduce the time it takes researchers to locate instruments for survey research. More than 70 new scales have been added to the Third Edition. New scales were selected based upon actual usage and citations by researchers in articles where a major objective was scale development. Each scale is prefaced by the same information. Details are provided of construct, description, development, samples, validity, scores, sources, references, and other evidence. The book includes a number of measures that have been used in several studies. The volume serves as a guide to the literature and may spur further refinement of existing measures in terms of item reduction, dimensionality, reliability, and validity. This Handbook also aims to help identify areas where measures are needed, thus encouraging further development of valid measures of consumer behavior and marketing constructs.

"The Marketing Scales Handbook series is the longest-running set of books that provide reviews of multi-item measures used in scholarly studies of consumer behavior. This volume picks up where the previous volume ended and has reviews of 400 scales that were reported in top marketing journal articles published in 2018 and 2019. These scales are new to the series and were not in any of the previous volumes. Each review provides the scale items (questions, statements, or semantic differentials) as well as information about the scale's origin, previous users, and measurement quality. The bulk of the scales in this book involve topics typical to the series such as brands, advertising, stores, purchasing, and pricing. Measures of other topics in this volume have to do with a variety of other topics including investing and other aspects of personal finance, love and romance, health, relationships, responsibilities, salespeople, donating, self-efficacy, social media, reality, superiority, threats, and touch. As with the rest of the series, this book is a unique and valuable resource for researchers in a variety of fields who want tested and reliable measures of attitudes, emotions, or traits for their studies of consumers or other groups of respondents such as viewers, patients, patrons, or citizens. Many of the measures could also be used in business settings when studying employees, members, or administrators. Instead of using simplistic measures of dubious quality or, at the other extreme, having to build and refine sophisticated measures from scratch, researchers can use the book's contents to learn from the experts who have already crafted quality scales and had their measures vetted by other experts. By using these precision metrics, the expectation is that accuracy of analyses will increase as will the quality of the decisions based upon them."