Skip to main content

Psychology: General Research Guide (Atlanta Campus): Finding
Articles

PSYCHOLOGY DATABASES

Try these first:

PsycINFO
Best source for finding scholarly literature in psychology and related fields.

Web of Science
Highest quality academic database for scholarly literature in all disciplines.

Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive multi-disciplinary scholarly database.

PubMed
Focus is on biomedical articles, including those related to bio-psychological fields.

 

Also try:

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Most information can also be found in Academic Search Complete.  Note: you can search both databases simultaneously by clicking on "Choose Databases" from the main search interface of either database.

ERIC
Focus is on education.  Includes articles and documents related to educational psychology and learning.

GOOGLE SCHOLAR

Google Scholar broadly searches for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources – including articles, books, theses, professional societies, and more. 

Google Scholar

About Google Scholar
Google Scholar Search Tips

GSU LIBRARY - 2ND FLOOR LINK


© All rights reserved by Georgia State University Library

GETTING TO ARTICLES FROM DATABASES

1: Look for a "Full-Text" or "PDF" link that will take you directly to the article. If yes, great.  If not, go to #2.

2: Look for the button.  Click on it.  Look for the "Full text online" link at the top.  If yes, great. If not, you will see "Sorry, no electronic full text is available."  Go to #3.

3: If you see the "Sorry, no electronic full text is available" message, click the link below it that says "We may have a copy in print."  If yes, go to the library to copy the article.  If we do not have it in print, go to #4.

4: Request the article you need through interlibrary loan.

REMEMBER TO ASK FOR HELP AT ANY STEP.

PEER-REVIEWED ARTICLES

Use peer-reviewed articles for your research papers.

"Peer-Reviewed" journal =
"Scholarly" journal =
"Academic" journal =
"Refereed" journal

Know the difference between scholarly and non-scholarly articles.

Good guide provided by: University of Arizona

FINDING ARTICLES BY CITATION INFORMATION

If you have partial information about an article (title, year published, journal, author, volume, issue, page numbers) try using one of the following options to get to the full article:

E-Journal Locator
Check to see if there is an electronic version of the journal in which the article appeared.  Then see if we have electronic access for the year the article was published.

Citation Linker
Enter as much known information as you have about the article in the appropriate fields.

GIL-Find
This is GSU's library catalog. Search for the title of the journal (not the title of the article). Look through results carefully to see if we have electronic access to journal for the year the article was published.  If so, connect to the e-journal and browse to the volume/issue number with the article.

PSYCHOLOGY LIBRARIAN

Ida Martinez
Contact:
542 Library South
(404) 413-2863
itmartinez@gsu.edu